Carly Rae Fehlberg Photography

Black and White Chicago

Last Friday I piled into a school van with some fellow piano students and drove to Chicago. The intention was to be at a music conference going on downtown, but we ended up spending most of our time walking around going to museums and concerts. Luckily for me, it gave me a lot of opportunities for street photography. I wasn’t as brave as I’d like to be when it comes to taking photos of strangers (it took me 20 minutes to psych myself up to get the photo of the man reading), but I feel like I learned a lot. I decided to make everything black and white because I really felt like the city had a lot of good shapes and contrast that should be emphasized.

I also picked up a book about the recently discovered street photographer Vivian Maier and was instantly inspired and humbled (which happens a lot). To anyone wanting to get into street photography (or any photography, for that matter), I highly recommend checking it out. Her story is incredible.

This entry was published on March 24, 2014 at 11:25 PM. It’s filed under Buildings, Street Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

